RSS Feed

Chow Mein with a little twist

When we’re introduced to the kitchen, there is always a type of food that we find the most intimidating to cook. For me, it was Chinese and any type of Asian food, really.

Take chow mein, for example.┬áThere is just so many ways to prepare the noodles. You can boil, stir-fry, pan fry and even prepare them in soup. Although I love eating chow mein, it just seemed so complicated to prepare that I always opted to stay away from cooking it myself, just so that I wouldn’t ruin it.

But the worst battle is the one you don’t fight, so I finally decided to give preparing these yummy noodles a shot.

At restaurants, chow mein is usually served with shrimp, broccoli beef, sweet and sour pork or orange chicken. But when such a dish is prepared at home, the chow mein always has the cooker’s special twist.

Personally, I like to prepare my noodles with chicken, and I sprinkle some veggies around, such as cabbage, broccoli and carrots. Here’s how I did it:

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 pound of noodles
  • 2 tablespoons of oil for frying
  • 2 tablespoons of soy sauce
  • shredded cooked chicken
  • cabbage
  • broccoli
  • baby carrots
  • salt and pepper
Directions:
  1. cook noodles in boiling water for about 3-5 minutes
  2. drain noodles
  3. prepare and chop vegetables (cabbage, carrots and broccoli)
  4. heat a frying pan over medium heat and add the 2 tablespoons of oil
  5. Add the shredded chicken, and let it slightly brown
  6. Add the noodles and stir
  7. Add as much salt and pepper as desired
  8. Sprinkle vegetables on top of noodles
  9. Finally, add the soy sauce and stir until ready
I’m not going to say my chow mein tasted like a fine noodle dish does in a restaurant, but it was decent and filled my tummy. Because I love spicy foods, I added Sriracha hot sauce, which made it 10 times better. Check out other types of chow mein here.
Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

